Tampines accident

Two days ago, in the news, there was a tragic accident that occurred in Tampines that killed two brothers at the scene. Poor boys probably didn’t know what hit them and before they knew it, they were dead.

This just makes you realise how fragile life is and how easily that can just be taken away. Just like that in an instant, two brothers died at the same time, at the same place. They were the only two children and they didn’t have other siblings.

Ever since then, whenever I travel anywhere on my own, no matter how tempted I am to take out my headphones and listen to music to make me more energized for school, I resist it and move around without headphones. I know that the boys didn’t pass away because they were listening to music while on the road but now the possibility of losing my life just because I’m not careful scares me.

My mother always tells me not to listen to music while going to school and I ignore her most of the time. Only some days, I don’t take out my headphones to listen to music because I don’t feel like it and anyway, there will always be people who blast music out of their headphones in the train so you get to listen to music too. But what if I get injured one day, just because I refused to listen to her and put on headphones while travelling?

It would be a ‘serve you right’ thing. Life is so fragile and God can choose to take us away any time. So for now, I’m not going to listen to music while travelling. It’s going to be a pain but I’m going to try and stick to my resolution.

This is going to sound cliche but it’s true.

It’s better to be safe than sorry.

To those who travel with their headphones on, just be careful while crossing the roads and stuff. But if you’re not confident of being highly alert of your surroundings, then I suggest you don’t travel while listening to music.

Leave a Reply

