Captain America: The Winter Soldier

Hey guys!

Sorry I’ve been missing in action for um the last 2 weeks, I guess? I recently started working and it hasn’t been easy on me. I guess for an introverted person who likes to do things my way at my own pace, it’s been really hard and there have been times whereby I really felt like breaking down and felt really miserable. But I don’t have a choice if I want to complete my education so. Five more months into this and I’m out of here into freedom again.

I just need to find some kind of motivation for me every week to keep going.

So yeah, back to the review.

I’m glad to finally be back here at my laptop typing a review once more. It feel so much different to be typing words that simply come out of my head, in my own words as compared to typing words in a restricted way (knowing that I can’t type this, I have to keep to a certain format, I can’t type anything I want to – I’m talking about my work, by the way) and the feeling is great.

I haven’t been much up to date with my mangas and animes and I did just go to see Captain America: The Winter Soldier so I’m going to review that. It’s a nice change to be writing about a movie again 🙂

In one sentence to sum up the Captain America sequel, it was effing amazing, effing AWESOME.

Directed by Anthony and Joe Russo and starring the handsome Chris Evans as Captain Steve Rogers AKA Captain America, the lovely Scarlett Johansson as Natasha Romanoff and Samuel L. Jackson as Director Nick Fury, the cast is simply amazing and the stunts are all brilliantly choreographed. New characters such as Sam Wilson, AKA the Falcon add on excitement to the story and an old familiar face will throw mystery and a whole bunch of questions into the story. The story has a good plot and a good pace that will slowly reveal the secrets and answers to almost everything. There is also a plot twist that will throw you off-guard. Honestly, I didn’t fully get what was exactly going on until probably three-quarters into the movie.

So here comes the movie synopsis:

Set two years after the events in The Avengers, Steve Rogers is still struggling to catch up to present-day modern society and adapt. He still works for S.H.I.E.L.D. but trouble and mystery brews underneath the safe and upright facade of the organisation. After a raid on a S.H.I.E.L.D. ship is revealed to be a set up by Nick Fury himself, things start to look suspicious when Steve finds out that Nick Fury hasn’t been telling him everything. While Nick Fury himself calls it ‘compartmentalising’, Steve sees it as a lack of trust.

Nick Fury eventually gets chased and attacked by policemen and narrowly escapes about six police cars that were hot on his tail. Wounded, Nick Fury seeks refuge at Steve’s house. He doesn’t give him much information about what’s going on and only tells him that they’re being watched and not to trust anyone as his final words before he passes a thumbdrive to him and seemingly dies from an ambush. Steve gives chase to the gunman but the mysterious person is no ordinary person and he disappears into the night easily. Steve however, does take note that this person is fast, strong and had a metal arm.

When Steve meets with S.H.I.E.L.D. official Alexander Pierce, Pierce demands to know what Nick Fury said to him before he died. But wary of the official, Steve says that he didn’t know why the director was in his room that night and withholds information from him. As he leaves the office on his way down in the elevator, Steve notices the suspicious behaviour of the people around him. He eventually catches on what is happening and a brawl breaks out.

He escapes by jumping out of the building and goes back to the hospital where Nick Fury once was. He meets Natasha there and together, they work to find the source of the information in the thumbdrive. She tells him about Nick Fury’s murderer, a person known as the Winter Soldier who had murdered many others in the last 70 years. She tells him that the Winter Soldier is real but that he’s a ‘ghost story’. They are directed to an old familiar place of Steve’s where a S.H.I.E.L.D. bunker was built. There, they encounter the preserved consciousness of Arnim Zola, the German scientist who worked for the Red Skull. Zola reveals that the organisation HYDRA operated within the ranks of S.H.I.E.L.D. shortly after it was founded and that there was a plan to eliminate millions of people in a few days’ time.

Before they can find out more information, they realise that a missile was headed their way and they narrowly escape the explosion. Steve takes Natasha to Sam’s house and Sam offers his help to Steve, revealing that he was trained in aerial combat with the help of a special set of wings.

The trio set out once more but they are chased by the S.H.I.E.L.D. agents and the Winter Soldier. A fight breaks out as the trio attempt to defend themselves and during the intense fight between Steve and the Winter Soldier, Steve knocks off his opponent’s face mask and when the guy looks up at him, the two stare at each other for a moment and shocked, Steve breathes,

‘Bucky? ‘

Bucky Barnes

~

So I think that’s pretty much enough for the story, the rest is up to you to go and find out by watching this amazing movie in the cinemas. I think I’ll wait a little longer to watch my favourite movies in the cinema next time; the cinema was so full that even the front row was taken and it was so noisy, more often than not with whisperings and food-crunching noises. But I don’t regret watching this movie ASAP since it was the movie of my favourite Avenger ^^

RATING

Story pacing: 10/10 (I felt that the story development was good; not too fast, not too slow)

Choreography: 10/10 (The stunts and the action scenes were all so good, really)

Acting: 9/10 (Chris Evans wonderfully portrayed the vulnerable and trusting side of Captain America that still believes that there are good people in this world worth trusting, Scarlett Johansson portrayed the mysterious and sceptical Black Widow so well that I nearly suspected that she was a spy at one point, Samuel L. Jackson did a great job in portraying Nick Fury as a mysterious person with superior motives for the good of people and Anthony Mackie was wonderful as the ex-soldier Sam Wilson)

Overall rewatchability: 9/10 (It was amazing. But I didn’t give it a 10 simply because the story may seem a little slow with the information revealing and knowing what happens after already watching it once, you’d probably only want to watch the action scenes from second time onwards)

Finally, here’s a quote from the movie that made me laugh:

‘Don’t look at me. I do what he does, just slower.’ 

– Sam Wilson, the Falcon

Captain America: The Winter Soldier is worth watching, and definitely not one to miss for Marvel fans like me. And oh yeah, when you do go and watch the show, remember to stay all the way till the end. Trust me, you do not wanna go away. You’d know what I mean, Marvel fans 😉

2 thoughts on “Captain America: The Winter Soldier

Leave a Reply

